HEPL Faculty & Staff Directory

Directors

Faculty Director

Sarah Church
Professor of Physics
Principal Investigator: The Church Group
Phone: 650.725.1311
Email: schurch@stanford.edu

Deputy Faculty Director

Leo Hollberg
Research Professor of Physics
Phone: 650.723.4227
Email: leoh@stanford.edu

Administrative/Managing Director

Nancy Christiansen
Administration and Operations
Phone: 650.387.9742
Email: nchristiansen@stanford.edu


Faculty

HEPL faculty members represent a diversity of departments and schools, including: Physics, Astrophysics, Biophysics, Applied Physics, Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering, Neuroscience and Medicine. All HEPL research projects managed by these faculty members are interdisciplinary, crossing departmental boundaries and combining physics and engineering, biophysics and medicine, and so on.

Robert L. Byer
The William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor and Professor of Photon Science
Phone: 650.723.0227
Email: byer@stanford.edu

Blas Cabrera
Stanley G. Wojcicki Professor and Professor of Particle Physics and Astrophysics
Phone: 650.723.3395
Email: cabrera@stanford.edu

E.J. Chichilnisky
John R. Adler Professor, Professor of Neurosurgery and of Ophthalmology and, by courtesy, of Electrical Engineering
Phone: 650.723.0276
Email: ej@stanford.edu

Christopher H. Contag
Professor of Pediatrics (Neonatology), of Microbiology and Immunology sand, by courtesy, of Radiology and of Bioengineering
Department of Pediatrics - Neonatology
Phone: 650.725.8781
Email: ccontag@cmgm.stanford.edu

Daniel DeBra
Edward C. Wells Professor of Engineering, Emeritus
Department: Aeronautics and Astronautics
Phone: 650.723.3388
Email: ddebra@stanford.edu

Per Enge
Vance D. and Arlene C. Coffman Professor and Professor, by courtesy, of Electrical Engineering
Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Phone: 650.723.2853
Email: per.enge@stanford.edu

back to top

C.W. Francis Everitt
Professor (Research) at the W.W. Hansen Experimental Physics Laboratory, Emeritus
Phone: 650.725.4103
Email: francis@relgyro.stanford.edu

Giorgio Gratta
Professor of Physics and, by courtesy, of Particle Physics and Astrophysics
Phone: 650.725.6509
Email: gratta@stanford.edu

Jason Hogan
Assistant Professor of Physics
Phone: 650.498.0693
Email: hogan@stanford.edu

Kent D. Irwin
Professor of Physics, of Particle Physics and Astrophysics and of Photon Science
Phone: 650.723.4307
Email: irwin@stanford.edu

back to top

Steven Kahn
Cassius Lamb Kirk Professor in the Natural Sciences and Professor of Particle Physics and Astrophysics
Department of Physics
Phone: 650.926.4622
Email: skahn@slac.stanford.edu

Aharon Kapitulnik
Theodore and Sydney Rosenberg Professor of Applied Physics and Professor of Physics
Department of Applied Physics
Phone: 650.723.3847
Email: aharonk@stanford.edu

Mark Kasevich
Professor of Physics and of Applied Physics
Vice Chairman, Physics Department
Phone: 650.723.4356
Email: kasevich@stanford.edu

Chao-Lin Kuo
Associate Professor of Physics and of Particle Physics and Astrophysics
Phone: 650.736.7880
Email: clkuo@stanford.edu

John A. Lipa
Professor (Research) of Physics, Emeritus
Phone: 650.723.4562
Email: jlipa@stanford.edu

Bruce Macintosh
Professor of Physics
Department of Physics
Phone: 650.725.4116
Email: bmacintosh@stanford.edu

Peter F. Michelson
Luke Blossom Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences, Professor of Physics
Chairman, Department of Physics
Phone: 650.723.3004
Email: peterm@stanford.edu

back to top

Daniel Palanker
Professor of Ophthalmology
Department of Ophthalmology
Phone: 650.725.0059
Email: palanker@stanford.edu

Brad Parkinson
Edward C. Wells Professor in the School of Engineering, Emeritus
Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Phone: 650.725.4105
Email: brad.parkinson@stanford.edu

Philip H. Scherrer
Professor (Research) of Physics and Senior Fellow at the Hansen Experimental Physics Laboratory
Department of Physics
Phone: 650.723.1504
Email: phil@solar.stanford.edu

H. Alan Schwettman
Professor of Physics, Emeritus
Department of Physics
Phone: 650.723.0305
Email: has@stanford.edu

Todd I. Smith
Professor (Research) of Physics, Emeritus
Department of Physics
Phone: 650.723.1906
Email: todd.smith@stanford.edu

Sami Tantawi
Professor of Particle Physics and Astrophysics
SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Phone: 650.926.4454
Email: tantawi@slac.sanford.edu

back to top


Administrative Staff

The HEPL administrative staff has a wide range of skills that ensures the success of the laboratory and its activities. Please feel free to contact any member of the team regarding his or her area of expertise.

Diane Cisneroz
Research Assistant
650.723.4104
Research Assistant to Francis Everitt and Barry Muhlfelder for GP-B
Email: dlarsonc@stanford.edu

Jan Goebel
Financial Management Analyst
650.723.0193
Financial Analyst/Research Administrator for GLAST, LISA, CDMS, EXO and other HEPL and KIPAC sponsored projects.
Email: jhopkins@stanford.edu

Sochietta (Sochie) Kao
Human Resources Associate
650.723.0100
HEPL Human Resources Associate
Email: sochiek@stanford.edu

Marcia Keating
Financial Management Analyst
650.725.2344
Financial analyst and administrator for Blas Cabrera
Email: mkeating@stanford.edu

back to top

Haruko Makitani
Research Administrator and Financial Management Analyst
Solar Observatories Group, HEPL Ooperations
Email: makitani@stanford.edu

Dorrene Ross
Operations Manager
Cell: 650.804.2289
Sponsored project compliance for Property Manager, Facilities and Safety Manager, Shipping and Receiving Manager.
Email: dmross@stanford.edu

Dora (Dee) Taumalolo
Facilities Specialist 2
Cell: 650.444.3099
Fax: 650.725.8311
Desktop/IP address support, STAR Rep for ITS, Stanford Express procurement, Pcards, Tcards, expense requests, Conf. Rm Calendar Manager, Accounting, Shipping and Receiving, DPA and Building Manager back up.
Email: bleu@stanford.edu

Berlyn Vicente
Administrative Associate
Cell: 650.670.2681
Stanford Express procurement, Pcards, Tcards, expense requests, Conf. Rm Calendar Manager, Shipping and Receiving backup
Email: berlyn@stanford.edu

Jeff R Wade
Network and Systems Security Manager
650.736.2171 (Office)
650.245.9542 (Cell Phone)
Manages computer systems and infrastructure, including networks and clusters; maintains building and computer security

Email: jrw@stanford.edu

Lamonte Wiley
Property Control Assistant
Office: 650.724.8065
Courier for AM and PM mail for Ginzton/HEPL, USPS Mail, Shipping and Receiving and Property Tagging
Email: lwiley@stanford.edu

Heidi Wong
Departmental Financial Management Analyst
650.725.0496
Monitors departmental expenditures, prepares forecasts, administers PI certification compliance program, labor distributions, suspense account
Email: heidiyyw@stanford.edu

back to top